Erasmus map

Erasmus+ is the programme established by the EU for education, training, youth and sport for the period 2021-2027, by Regulation (EU) No. 2021/817 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 May 2021, published in the Official Journal of the European Union.

The activities that can be implemented by Higher Education Institutions within Erasmus+ are articulated within three Key Actions:

Key Action 1, INDIVIDUAL MOBILITY FOR LEARNING which includes the following opportunities:

  • Individual mobility of students and staff

Key Action 2, COOPERATION BETWEEN ORGANISATIONS AND INSTITUTIONS, which includes the following measures

  • partnerships for cooperation (cooperation partnerships; small-scale partnerships)
  • partnerships for excellence (Erasmus Mundus)
  • European universities
  • Capacity building


The Erasmus+ programme also includes Jean Monnet projects and cooperation activities in the field of Sport.

Under Key Action 1 the University offers mobility opportunities to students, for study and traineeship (Erasmus for Study and Erasmus for Traineeship), and to staff, for teaching and training (Staff Mobility for teaching and Staff Mobility for training).

For more details on mobility opportunities and related calls, see the list on the right.

Key Action 1 (KA131) – Mobility for individuals

Under Key Action 1 of the Programme, KA131, students may spend a period of study (Erasmus for Study Programme) and traineeship (Erasmus for Traineeship Programme) abroad, at universities, companies, training and research centres, without any fees being charged and with the guarantee of full recognition of the activities carried out and the training credits achieved. Mobility may last between 2 and 12 months (long-term mobility). Short-term mobility (short-term mobility) of between 5 and 30 days is also permitted for doctoral students. Blended mobility is also possible, whereby a part of the physical mobility abroad is combined with a part of virtual mobility.

Action KA131 also supports staff mobility through the Staff Mobility for teaching programmes, under which teaching activities may be carried out at a partner university, and Staff Mobility for training, which aims to support staff mobility abroad for training purposes. Staff mobility can last between 2 days and 2 months.

Erasmus Destinations for outgoing students and staff

Mobility in one of the following countries is possible within Key Action KA131

  • European Union countries
  • Third countries associated to the Programme: North Macedonia, Iceland, Norway, Serbia, Lichtenstein and Turkey;

A portion of the mobility budget, not exceeding 20% of the total budget, may be allocated to finance the mobility of outgoing students and staff in one of the Third Countries not associated to the Programme (all countries not included in the lists above)

Incoming and outgoing mobility beyond the EU

Erasmus+ also supports the incoming and outgoing mobility of students and staff, to and from institutions in third countries not associated with the programme, through specific projects implemented under the International Credit Mobility programme (KA171)