The EWA-BELT project aims at developing Sustainable Intensification (SI) of agriculture productions in organic, agroforestry and mixed crop and livestock farming systems in 26 study areas of 6 countries belonging to East (Ethiopia, Kenya and Tanzania) and West (Burkina Faso, Ghana, Sierra Leone) Africa. The research activities, carried out in Farmer Field Research Units (FFRU), will address areas including marginalized and/or abandoned lands and existing agricultural lands to increase their yield potential. Through integrated participative researches, innovative tools (FFRU, ICT, Integrated Pest Management - IPM) and identification and dissemination of best practices, all countries will be linked into an interregional East-West African BELT able to reinforce SI in agriculture.

The project will enhance the current scientific knowledge on the adaptation of most promising traditional crops in different agroecosystems and the impacts of traditional agricultural practices on soil health in terms of nutrients, water retention and organic matter content. EWA-BELT will also investigate the introduction of innovative and appropriate plant protection technologies within an IPM approach for key crops and the identification of a set of indicators to be used in the assessment of the SI approach impacts taking into account both the environmental health and, synergically, the economic and social aspects.

Title and acronym: Linking East and West African farming systems experience into a BELT of sustainable intensification - EWA-BELT

Dates: from October 2020 to September 2024


BURKINA FASO: Plateau Central, Centre Ouest, Bobo Dioulasso, Houndé, Békuy, Dédougou, Béréba.

SIERRA LEONE: North-East and North-Western Province.

GHANA: Nabdam, Talensi, Savelugu, Mamprusi.

KENYA: Nambale sub-county (Busia county), Mumia East sub-county (Kakamega county), Bumula sub-county (Bungoma county), GEM Sub-County - Uriri (Siaya County), Nyando Sub-County - Awasi (Kisumu County).

TANZANIA: Oldonyosambu (Arusha District) Ngarenanyuki (Meru District), Mwanga District, Longido District, Mbulu and Simanjiro Districts (Manyara Region), Kondoa and Chamwino Districts (Dodoma Region).

ETIOPIA: Damot Gale, Halaba, Meskan, Oromia (Omo-nada, Dedo and Jimma Districts).

Source of Funding: European Commission - H2020 Program

Role of NRD: Project Coordinator

Scientific responsible: Prof.ssa Giovanna Seddaiu

NRD members and staff involved: Prof. Pier Paolo Roggero, Prof. Quirico Migheli, Dott. Alberto Carletti, Dott.ssa Margherita Rizzu, Dott.ssa Roberta Lobina.

Keywords: Sustainable Intensification, Participatory Approach, East and West Africa, Information Communication Technology, Remote Plant Disease Diagnostic Network

The partners

For further information